Irish Hereford Travel Bursary to New Zealand

Slaney Foods Sponsors the Irish Hereford Travel Bursaries to New Zealand in Collaboration with The Irish Hereford Breed Society

Slaney Foods have been working with the Irish Hereford Breed Society to send 4 finalists to travel to New Zealand in March 2020 to represent Ireland at the World Hereford Conference Young Breeders Competition.  The standard of competitors was very strong and it was no easy task to choose just 4 winners.As part of the process, the 10 finalists had to:
  • Attend an IHBS Show/Judging Workshop in July (The first workshop was held on the farm of Tom and Anselm Fitzgerald of Grianan Herefords in Co. Westmeath and the second workshop was held at Bandon Mart where Gurteragh Herefords provided the cattle & Peter O’Connell demonstrated cattle show skills)
  • Participate in a Stock Showing/Judging Competition
  • Create a short 3-5 minute presentation on the Hereford Breed
  • Attend the National Ploughing Championships where they were interviewed. 


The 10 finalists were:

  • Clodagh Lynch, Co. Cork
  • Sinead Conry, Co. Roscommon
  • Mark Stewart, Co. Monaghan
  • Ross Bateman, Co. Cork
  • James Thompson, Co. Carlow
  • Catherine Smyth, Co. Meath
  • Eoin Lynch, Co. Cork
  • Hannah Quinn-Mulligan, Co. Limerick
  • Michael Barret, Co. Cork
  • Katie Bradie, Co. Cavan
Irish Hereford Travel Bursary to New Zealand
L to R: Katie Brady, Mark Stewart, Sinead Conry, Michael Barrett, Clodagh Lynch, , Eoin Lynch, Louise Callan (IHBS Breed Development Officer),Henry Dudley (IHBS President), Marika Mahon (Slaney Foods), James Thompson, Ross Bateman, Hannah Quinn-Mulligan,Catherine Smyth, Thomas Duffy (Macra na Feirme President), Willie Branagan (IHBS Chairman).
Following interviews by Thomas Duffy, president of Macra na Feirme, the Irish Hereford Breed Society announced the Travel Bursary winners who will represent Ireland at the World Hereford Conference Young Breeders Competition in New Zealand in March 2020.  These are:
  • Eoin Lynch,Co. Cork
  • Michael Barrett, Co. Cork
  • Sinead Conry, Co. Roscommon
  • Katie Brady,Co. Cavan
Reserve Winners: Clodagh Lynch, Co. Cork & Catherine Smyth, Co. Meath.Irish Hereford Travel Bursary Winners
L to R:  Eoin Lynch, Sinead Conry, Katie Brady, Michael Barrett
Eoin Lynch, Sinead Conroy, Katie Brady and Michael Barrett attended the Hereford Calf Show in Tullamore to wash, dry, clip, groom and dress all calves for any breeders who wished to avail of their services. Each team member led animals in the Show and Sale for various breeders.  All four young handlers worked hard showing great teamwork and displayed the cattle with great taste and talent.The Irish team will compete against teams from the USA, Australia, UK, Sweden, New Zealand and Denmark in New Zealand in March 2020.We will keep you updated on the progress of the team.